Florianópolis, Brazil

I spent 5 days on the beaches of Florianópolis, and barely have any pictures to show for it. In summary, my days looked like this.

2016-04-03 16.40.23

One day, I even left the immediate vicinity of the hostel, but that was only to hike to a nude beach. It looked like this.

2016-04-04 13.32.35
Yes, not all beaches in Brazil are nude.

Getting there was a bit like walking through a jungle; the path looked like this.

2016-04-04 13.26.16
I couldn’t find it either.

My phone’s camera decided to activate itself for what must have been the entire walk, so I ended up with hundreds of pictures like this.

2016-04-04 13.26.00
I decided to keep this one as a glimpse into my phone’s consciousness.

Florianópolis is actually a normal city with skyscrapers. Don’t forget, Brazil’s population is north of 200 million and they have to live somewhere.

2016-04-04 17.31.41

The beaches are on the other side of the island though, where people walk their cows in the morning.

2016-04-04 16.15.56

Other than the typical caipirinhas and coconut juice (see above), another amazing drink is called caldo de cana (literally, broth of sugar cane). It is made fresh directly from the canes, with this machine that squeezes out all the juices.

2016-04-04 12.11.09
Served on ice with fresh lime juice, it’s a killer combo.

Speaking of culinary things, Brazil has a lot of fruits and vegetables whose names or appearances I don’t recognize at all. And like in other countries, there are dedicated fruit and vegetable stores, so you get all the variety at once.

2016-03-31 16.00.27
I wanted to say I made an awesome recipe with produce not available in the US, but that wasn’t the case.

They also appear to respect international copyright law, to an extent…

2016-03-31 12.46.19

That’s literally all I can show for my time on this beautiful island. Trust me you would forget to take pictures too.

Leave a Reply

