Budapest, Hungary

Let me cheat and put in one picture from my stop in Bratislava, Slovakia. I got sick so didn’t take too many pictures there…

You can eat at the top of the "UFO Bridge". Pretty sure you can also have an overpriced meal in a high human-built structure in most cities of the world...that's not supposed to sound cynical, just broke.
You can eat at the top of the “UFO Bridge”. Pretty sure you can also have an overpriced meal in a high human-built structure in most cities of the world…that’s not supposed to sound cynical, just stingy.

Budapest is a beautiful city, especially with the wide Danube separating the two city parts (the formerly separate cities of Buda and Pest).

And if you want, you can pay about 25 to get this view on a boat with an open bar for 2 hours!
And if you want, you can pay about 25 to get this view on a boat with an open bar for 2 hours!

It had such a nice looking castle that I even paid to see the National Gallery housed inside (!!)

Pretty sure this is what Game of Thrones based its Iron Throne off.
Pretty sure this is what Game of Thrones based its Iron Throne off.
Great repurposing of old train stations: market halls!
I wanted to talk about how nice it is to convert old train stations into market halls, but this one was actually just built to be a market.
As much as I love long subways, I have to give this one a shoutout for being the shortest I've seen--just about the length shown in this picture.
As much as I love long subways, I have to give this one a shoutout for being the shortest I’ve seen–just about the length shown in this picture.

You always question how many of the activities in a city are actually representative of the city, but caving in Hungary is actually enabled by the geological background of the region: a big thermal water reservoir.

My butt crawling into a small hole.
My butt crawling into a small hole.
The trend of adding "Das" in front of a German word holds strong even in Budapest.
The trend of adding a convenient-looking and incorrect article in front of a German word holds strong even in Budapest.
Many US brands are actually completely international!
Many US brands are actually completely international! This is in the popular Jewish (7th) district of the city.
