Stockholm, Sweden

If I ever wanted to create an authoritarian regime and emphasize my power, I would paint my trains black like this and put that logo in the center, just like the Swedes do.
If I ever wanted to create an authoritarian regime and emphasize my power, I would paint my trains black like this and put that logo in the center, just like the Swedes do.

Alcohol is ridiculously expensive, or at least the varieties with over 3.5% alcohol (which is controlled by the government-owned monopoly).

That's why Jacob's Creek over here made fake wine with 100% flavor, for stingy spenders or people that don't like paying the government taxes.
That’s why Jacob’s Creek over here made fake wine with 100% flavor, for stingy spenders or people that don’t like paying the government taxes.

In reality, all of the highlights in Sweden are related to its metro system, or at least that’s what I got out of my visit.

First, everything down there is huge:

Escalators are massively long.
Escalators are massively long.
Trains (and platforms) are massively long.
Trains (and platforms) are massively long.
Grocery store at rush hour, kind of like Black Friday in the US.
Grocery store at rush hour, kind of like Black Friday in the US.
Elevators get confused and start going sideways instead.
It’s so big that elevators get confused and start going sideways instead.

The entire system is actually an art installation; 4 (four!) of its stations made the list of 15 Most Beautiful Metro Stations. I won’t include all the pictures here but trust that I went to all of them.

Olympic Stadium station.
Olympic Stadium station.
Central Station.
Central Station.

Sweden is of course also home of IKEA.

I think the US is the only country I know where there isn't a free bus to IKEA.
I think the US is the only country I know where there isn’t a free bus to IKEA.
Most Swedish meal I had, courtesy of IKEA.
Most Swedish meal I had, courtesy of IKEA.

Finally, I guess there’s a downtown too.

They always say, don't trust someone your dog doesn't like.
They always say, don’t trust someone your dog doesn’t like.

I really wanted this one to be the cutest love story I’ve seen: a guy is walking his black lab, but it tugs him across the street to the waitress that’s kneeling to the left of the puppy. The dog is out of its mind excited and the waitress is really happy to see this bundle of fur interrupt her normal duties.

