Helsinki, Finland

A 2.5-hour ferry ride brought me over to the city of Helsinki. I emphasize city here because the downtown feels much more like a modern city than the capitals of the Baltic states.

Gimmicky, but cool: for a lot of money, you can have dinner or just some drinks hanging at hundreds of feet in the sky.
Gimmicky, but cool: for a lot of money, you can have dinner or just some drinks hanging at hundreds of feet in the sky.
I ran into a hip hop/breakdance competition, where they were doing a
I ran into a hip hop/breakdance competition, where they were doing a “soul train” interlude, open to everyone. I later kicked myself for just watching and not participating…
The best outdoor gym I've seen is at Hietaranta Beach in Helsinki. 3 pull-up bars of different levels, parallel bars, and a squat and bench press rack with barbells! We'll ignore the fact that they can probably only use it a few days of the year anyway...
The best outdoor gym I’ve seen is at Hietaranta Beach in Helsinki. 3 pull-up bars of different levels, parallel bars, and a squat and bench press rack with barbells! We’ll ignore the fact that they can probably only use it a few days of the year anyway…

I started talking to a random guy at this workout area, and he invited me to a startup incubator launch party later that evening. Despite my alarm that startup culture had followed me all the way to Finland, I went, and it ended up being an awesome way to meet some local university students.

Classic startup crowd.
Classic startup crowd.
It gets its name from the saying that all great decisions are made in saunas (I hadn't heard it before, either).
It gets its name from the saying that all great decisions are made in saunas (I hadn’t heard it before, either).
Required reading for Startup Sauna.
Required reading for Startup Sauna.
